Copyright Articles 1996 - 2013 - All Rights Reserved

Minnesota and Wisconsin criminal law, criminal defense, Divorce, custody, Lawyers

Limited License after DWI 
 


Search
Go


 General Info



About this Site


Minnesota Lawyers


Wisconsin Lawyers


Link Partners


 ASK-A-LAWYER



Ask-A-Lawyer: Questions


Legal Bulletin Boards


 BANKRUPTCY



Minnesota Bankruptcy


 BUSINESS



Business & Corporate Law


Minnesota Franchise Law


Freedom of Information Act


 CONSTRUCTION



Construction Law


 CRIMINAL DEFENSE



Criminal Defense Center


DWI Center


 DEBT COLLECTION



Debt Collection


 DIVORCE



MN & WI Family Law & Divorce


Divorce Any State


Collaborative Law


 EMPLOYMENT LAW



Employment Law


 ESTATE PLANNING



Estate Planning Center


 IMMIGRATION



U.S. Immigration Center


Canadian Immigration Center


What Type of Visa Do I Need?


 JUVENILE LAW



Minnesota Juvenile Justice Center


 PERSONAL INJURY



Personal Injury


Minnesota Wrongful Death


Minnesota Medical Malpractice


 REAL ESTATE - PROPERTY



Minnesota Real Estate


 SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY



Social Security Disability


 WORKMAN'S COMPENSATION



Worker's Compensation Center

Minnesota Lawyers  
Ofc. 612.240.8005  
Suite 700  
5775 Wayzata Boulevard  
St. Louis Park, MN 55416  

maury@beaulier.com  


Sitemap





Google

auto insurance, risk insurance, dwi
  Getting a Limited License: Minnesota Driver's Work Permit
If your license has been suspended or revoked because of a DWI arrest or as a result of having refused to take a breath or blood test, or for any other reason, you may qualify for a "Limited License" which is also called a "Work Permit." This limited license will allow you to drive to and from work. However, it can not be used for any other purpose. Even a stop at the grocery store on your way home from work may violate the conditions of the work permit. To qualify, you must be currently employed.

Whether you qualify for a Limited License also depends on your driving record. The waiting period to obtain a limited license after a DWI arrest depends on your past driving record. The more offenses that you have, the longer the wait. On a first offense, it is likely that you received a piece of paper when you received your ticket. That piece of paper operates as a seven (7) day temporary license. After that 7 day period has elapsed, you will not qualify for a limited license for another 15 days. On the twenty-first day after your ticket, you may apply for a limited license.

The process for application is as follows:

  1. Before your current license is actually revoked, you should go to one of the driver examination stations to retake the written test. The written test is a specialized test relating to drinking and driving issues. To study for the test, you should review Chapters 7 and 8 of the Driver's Safety Manual. Be sure to pick up a review book before taking the written test. Testing stations can be located on the Department of Public Safety's website. It is not necessary to wait until the revocation begins before you take the tests.
  2. As of August 1, 2005, It will cost a $680 reinstatement fee in addition to a application fee of $18.50.
  3. The DWI law requires that the application for a limited license show that the driver cannot reasonably use a bus or rideshare to get to work.
  4. After passing both your driving and written test, you may apply for your Limited License by meeting with an administrator from the DPS Office at your testing location.
  5. Remember to bring your test score sheet when you apply for your limited license.
  6. When you apply for the Limited License:
    • You will make application for a new license;
    • you will surrender all existing license certificates;
    • If you are eligible, a limited license will be issued to you.
  7. The limited license will cover work-related driving, to treatment and in some cases to school or college. Generally, a maximum of 60 hours per week of available driving time can be authorized.
  8. Applicants are served on a first-come, first-serve basis. If you arrive between 7:45 and 8:00 a.m, the wait may not be very long. If you arrive after 2:00 p.m., it may not be possible to get the matter completed that day.

If you have had a DWI in recent years, the Department may refuse to give you a limited license for a longer period of time. The waiting periods for a limited license are listed below. "BAC" stands for Blood Alcohol Content.

Violation Limited License Availability
1st Offense
  • Below .20 BAC
  • .20 and above
  • Refusal to Test
1st Offense
  • 15 days (after expiration of 7 day temporary license)
  • 30 days
  • 15 days (after expiration of 7 day temporary license)
Second Offense
  • Below .20 BAC
  • .20 and above
  • Refusal to Test
Second Offense
  • 90 days
  • 180 days
  • 180 days
Third Offense
  • Below .20 (third lifetime)
  • Below .20 (third within 10 years of 1st violation)
  • Below .10 (within 10 years of special review)
  • .20 and above
  • .20 and above (within 10 years of 1st violation)
  • .20 and above (within 10 years of special review)
  • Refusal
  • Refusal (within 10 years of 1st violation)
  • Refusal (within 10 years of special review)

 

Third Offense
  • 90 days
  • None available
  • None available
  • 180 days
  • None available
  • None available
  • 180 days
  • None available
  • None available
Fourth Offense Refusal or BAC None available
* If the driver is under the age of 18, the driver must wait 90 days or twice the time period shown above, whichever is greater

Call (612) 240-8005

Criminal Defense Center
Main Page

Bulletin Board
Ask a question or
review postings on our
DWI Bulletin Board

Ask-A-Lawyer
Ask-A-Lawyer your legal questions


 

ADDITIONAL ARTICLES

How breathalyzers work.
An explanation of the theory and operation of breath testing devices.

Alcohol Intoxication Testing.
Overview of current state of "scientific" testing

Breath Testing Machines.
Common methods of breath analysis..

BOOKS

Challenging the Breath Test at Trial

4 Ways to Get a New Drivers License

Drunk driving defense : how to beat the Rap.

Drunk Driving : A Survival Guide for Motorists

Drunk driving laws : rules of the road...






About this Site  |  Minnesota Lawyers  |  Wisconsin Lawyers  |  Link Partners  |  Ask-A-Lawyer: Questions  |  Legal Bulletin Boards  |  Minnesota Bankruptcy  |  Business & Corporate Law  |  Minnesota Franchise Law  |  Freedom of Information Act  |  Construction Law  |  Criminal Defense Center  |  DWI Center  |  Debt Collection  |  MN & WI Family Law & Divorce  |  Divorce Any State  |  Collaborative Law  |  Employment Law  |  Estate Planning Center  |  U.S. Immigration Center  |  Canadian Immigration Center  |  What Type of Visa Do I Need?  |  Minnesota Juvenile Justice Center  |  Personal Injury  |  Minnesota Wrongful Death  |  Minnesota Medical Malpractice  |  Minnesota Real Estate  |  Social Security Disability  |  Worker's Compensation Center

LEGAL SOLUTIONS FOR BUSINESS AND FAMILY

Any information contained on this site is general in nature. You should not rely on any articles, postings or other information on these pages as legal advice or to create an attorney-client relationship. If you are in need of legal advice concerning a particular matter, you are encouraged to contact an attorney in your state.

Any Lawyers referred have indicated the geographic area and the areas of law in which they will accept referrals. This site makes no investigation into the referral attorney's particular abilities to handle the Client's legal matter. Before employing the attorney, the Client should interview the attorney and make whatever investigation the Client feels is appropriate into the attorney's qualifications to handle the Client's legal matter.

Minnesota Lawyers


Sign In

 Sign In